How much does it cost to file for and serve a non-domestic sexual assault PPO?
There is no fee to get the forms for a PPO1 but it seems that some counties may charge a fee to file the forms in court. Michigan law specifically says that fees cannot be charged to file a motion to modify, terminate, extend, or to enforce a personal protection order if it is violated2 and Michigan law states that a fee cannot be charged to start a civil action for a PPO3 (but as of 2017, some counties are still charging to file a PPO).
When it comes to service, the petition and order can be served by anyone who is not a party to the case who is over 18. However, if you want law enforcement to serve it, service of PPO may cost anywhere from $10.00 to $100.00 depending on the travel costs associated with locating the respondent.4
1 See MCL § 600.2950b(4)
2 MCR 3.707(D); MCL § 600.2529(1)(e)
3 MCL § 600.2529(1)(a); MCR 3.703(A)
4 See PPO Instructions on Michigan Courts website