WomensLaw is not just for women. We serve and support all survivors, no matter their sex or gender.
Important: Even if courts are closed, you can still file for a protection order and other emergency relief. See our FAQ on Courts and COVID-19.
Legal Information: Colorado
Updated: January 17, 2020
What happens if the respondent violates the order?
If the respondent knowingly violates the extreme risk protection order, s/he may be charged with a crime. Violating an extreme risk protection order (including a temporary order) is a class 2 misdemeanor in Colorado.1 A person who is convicted of a class 2 misdemeanor can be sentenced to go to jail for three months to one year, pay a fine between $250 - $1,000, or both.2
1 Colo. Stat. § 13-14.5-111
2 Colo. Stat. § 18-1.3-504(1)(a)
© 2008–2020 WomensLaw.org is a project of the National Network to End Domestic Violence, Inc. All rights reserved. This website is funded in part through a grant from the Office for Victims of Crime, Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice. Neither the U.S. Department of Justice nor any of its components operate, control, are responsible for, or necessarily endorse, this website (including, without limitation, its content, technical infrastructure, and policies, and any services or tools provided). NNEDV is a 501©(3) non-profit organization; EIN 52-1973408.