Legal Information: Arizona

Statutes: Arizona

View all
Updated: 
October 28, 2021

§ 13-3552. Commercial sexual exploitation of a minor; classification

A. A person commits commercial sexual exploitation of a minor by knowingly:

1. Using, employing, persuading, enticing, inducing or coercing a minor to engage in or assist others to engage in exploitive exhibition or other sexual conduct for the purpose of producing any visual depiction or live act depicting such conduct.

2. Using, employing, persuading, enticing, inducing or coercing a minor to expose the genitals or anus or the areola or nipple of the female breast for financial or commercial gain.

3. Permitting a minor under the person’s custody or control to engage in or assist others to engage in exploitive exhibition or other sexual conduct for the purpose of producing any visual depiction or live act depicting such conduct.

4. Transporting or financing the transportation of any minor through or across this state with the intent that the minor engage in prostitution, exploitive exhibition or other sexual conduct for the purpose of producing a visual depiction or live act depicting such conduct.

5. Using an advertisement for prostitution as defined in § 13-3211 that contains a visual depiction of a minor.

B. Subsection A, paragraph 5 of this section does not apply to an act that is prohibited by § 13-3555 or to websites or internet service providers that host advertisements created and published by third parties and do not participate in creating or publishing the advertisements.

C. Commercial sexual exploitation of a minor is a class 2 felony and if the minor is under fifteen years of age it is punishable pursuant to § 13-705. Commercial sexual exploitation of a minor who is fifteen, sixteen or seventeen years of age is a class 2 felony, the person convicted shall be sentenced pursuant to this section and the person is not eligible for suspension of sentence, probation, pardon or release from confinement on any basis except as specifically authorized by § 31-233, subsection A or B until the sentence imposed by the court has been served or commuted. The presumptive term may be aggravated or mitigated within the range under this section pursuant to § 13-701, subsections C, D and E. The terms are as follows:

1. The term for a first offense is as follows:

Minimum

Presumptive

Maximum

13 years

20 years

27 years

2. The term for a defendant who has one historical prior felony conviction is as follows:

Minimum

Presumptive

Maximum

25 years

35 years

45 years

3. The term for a defendant who has two or more historical prior felony convictions is as follows:

Minimum

Presumptive

Maximum

30 years

40 years

50 years

WomensLaw serves and supports all survivors, no matter their sex or gender.