WomensLaw is not just for women. We serve and support all survivors, no matter their sex or gender.

Important: Even if courts are closed, you can still file for a protection order and other emergency relief. See our FAQ on Courts and COVID-19.

Legal Information: Texas

Statutes: Texas

View all
Updated: 
November 4, 2020

Art. 7A.01. Application for Protective Order

(a) The following persons may file an application for a protective order under this chapter without regard to the relationship between the applicant and the alleged offender:

(1) a person who is the victim of an offense under Section 21.02, 21.11, 22.011, 22.012, 22.021, or 42.072, Penal Code;

(2) a person who is the victim of an offense under Section 20A.02, 20A.03, or 43.05, Penal Code;

(3) a parent or guardian acting on behalf of a person younger than 17 years of age who is the victim of an offense listed in Subdivision (1);

(4) a parent or guardian acting on behalf of a person younger than 18 years of age who is the victim of an offense listed in Subdivision (2); or

(5) a prosecuting attorney acting on behalf of a person described by Subdivision (1), (2), (3), or (4).

(a-1) Except as provided by Subsection (a-2), if an application has not yet been filed in the case under Subsection (a), the attorney representing the state shall promptly file an application for a protective order with respect to each victim of an offense listed in Subdivision (1) or (2) of that subsection following the offender’s conviction of or placement on deferred adjudication community supervision for the offense.

(a-2) The attorney representing the state may not file an application under Subsection (a-1) with respect to a victim who is at least 18 years of age if the victim requests that the attorney representing the state not file the application.

(b) An application for a protective order under this chapter may be filed in:

(1) a district court, juvenile court having the jurisdiction of a district court, statutory county court, or constitutional county court in:

(A) the county in which the applicant resides;

(B) the county in which the alleged offender resides; or

(C) any county in which an element of the alleged offense occurred; or

(2) any court with jurisdiction over a protective order under Title 4, Family Code,1 involving the same parties named in the application.