WomensLaw is not just for women. We serve and support all survivors, no matter their sex or gender.

Important: Even if courts are closed, you can still file for a protection order and other emergency relief. See our FAQ on Courts and COVID-19.

Legal Information: Pennsylvania

Statutes: Pennsylvania

View all
Updated: 
February 5, 2020

1101. Fines

A person who has been convicted of an offense may be sentenced to pay a fine not exceeding:

(1) $50,000, when the conviction is of murder or attempted murder.

(2) $25,000, when the conviction is of a felony of the first or second degree.

(3) $15,000, when the conviction is of a felony of the third degree.

(4) $10,000, when the conviction is of a misdemeanor of the first degree.

(5) $5,000, when the conviction is of a misdemeanor of the second degree.

(6) $2,500, when the conviction is of a misdemeanor of the third degree.

(7) $300, when the conviction is of a summary offense for which no higher fine is established.

(8) Any higher amount equal to double the pecuniary gain derived from the offense by the offender.

(9) Any higher or lower amount specifically authorized by statute.