Legal Information: Delaware

Statutes: Delaware

View all
Updated: 
November 29, 2021

§ 804. Reckless burning or exploding; class A misdemeanor

(a) A person is guilty of reckless burning or exploding when the person intentionally starts a fire or causes an explosion, whether on the person’s own property or on another’s, and thereby recklessly places a building or other real or personal property of another in danger of destruction or damage or places another person in danger of physical injury.

(b) Reckless burning or exploding shall be punished as follows:

(1) Where the total amount of pecuniary loss caused by the burning or exploding, when totaled for all victims, is less than $1,500, such burning or exploding shall be a class A misdemeanor.(2) Where the total amount of pecuniary loss caused by the burning or exploding, when totaled for all victims, is $1,500 or more, such burning or exploding shall be a class G felony.

WomensLaw serves and supports all survivors, no matter their sex or gender.