WomensLaw is not just for women. We serve and support all survivors, no matter their sex or gender.

Important: Even if courts are closed, you can still file for a protection order and other emergency relief. See our FAQ on Courts and COVID-19.

Legal Information: Alabama

Statutes: Alabama

View all
Updated: 
January 6, 2020

Section 13A-6-69.1. Sexual abuse of a child less than 12 years old

(a) A person commits the crime of sexual abuse of a child less than 12 years old if he or she, being 16 years old or older, subjects another person who is less than 12 years old to sexual contact.

(b) Sexual abuse of a child less than 12 years old is a Class B felony.