WomensLaw is not just for women. We serve and support all survivors, no matter their sex or gender.

Important: Even if courts are closed, you can still file for a protection order and other emergency relief. See our FAQ on Courts and COVID-19.

Legal Information: Alabama

Statutes: Alabama

View all
Updated: 
January 6, 2020

Section 13A-6-62. Rape in the second degree

(a) A person commits the crime of rape in the second degree if, being 16 years old or older, he or she engages in sexual intercourse with another person who is 12 years old or older, but less than 16 years old; provided, however, the actor is at least two years older than the other person.

(b) Rape in the second degree is a Class B felony.