WomensLaw is not just for women. We serve and support all survivors, no matter their sex or gender.

Important: Even if courts are closed, you can still file for a protection order and other emergency relief. See our FAQ on Courts and COVID-19.

Legal Information: Alabama

Statutes: Alabama

View all
Updated: 
January 6, 2020

Section 13A-6-67. Sexual abuse in the second degree

(a) A person commits the crime of sexual abuse in the second degree if he or she does either of the following:

(1) Subjects another person to sexual contact who is incapable of consent by reason of some factor other than being less than 16 years old.

(2) Being 19 years old or older, subjects another person to sexual contact who is less than 16 years old, but more than 12 years old.

(b) Sexual abuse in the second degree is a Class A misdemeanor, except as provided in subsection (c), or if a person commits a second or subsequent offense of sexual abuse in the second degree within one year of another sexual offense, the offense is a Class C felony.

(c) If a person violates subdivision (a)(2), and he or she is at least 15 years older than the victim, the offense shall be a Class C felony.