WomensLaw is not just for women. We serve and support all survivors, no matter their sex or gender.

Important: Even if courts are closed, you can still file for a protection order and other emergency relief. See our FAQ on Courts and COVID-19.

Legal Information: Alabama

Statutes: Alabama

View all
Updated: 
January 6, 2020

Section 13A-6-63. Sodomy in the first degree

(a) A person commits the crime of sodomy in the first degree if he or she does any of the following:

(1) Engages in sodomy with another person by forcible compulsion.

(2) Engages in sodomy with another person who is incapable of consent by reason of being incapacitated.

(3) Being 16 years old or older, engages in sodomy with a person who is less than 12 years old.

(b) Sodomy in the first degree is a Class A felony.