Selected State Statutes: Wyoming

Statutes: Wyoming

View all

6-2-511. Domestic battery

(a) A household member is guilty of domestic battery if he knowingly or recklessly causes bodily injury to another household member by use of physical force.

(b) Domestic battery is punishable as follows:
(i) By imprisonment for not more than six (6) months, a fine of not more than seven hundred fifty dollars ($750.00), or both;
(ii) By imprisonment for not more than one (1) year, a fine of not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000.00), or both, if within the previous five (5) years, the person has been convicted of domestic battery or the following or similar offense against another household member:
(A) Domestic assault under W.S. 6-2-510;
(B) Simple assault under W.S. 6-2-501(a);
(C) Battery under W.S. 6-2-501(b);
(D) Aggravated assault and battery under W.S. 6-2-502;
(E) Child abuse under W.S. 6-2-503; or
(F) Reckless endangering under W.S. 6-2-504.
(iii) By imprisonment for not more than five (5) years, a fine of not more than two thousand dollars ($2,000.00), or both, if within the previous ten (10) years, the person has been convicted of domestic battery two (2) or more times or has been convicted of domestic battery and the following or similar offense against another household member:
(A) Domestic assault under W.S. 6-2-510;
(B) Simple assault under W.S. 6-2-501(a);
(C) Battery under W.S. 6-2-501(b);
(D) Aggravated assault and battery under W.S. 6-2-502;
(E) Child abuse under W.S. 6-2-503; or
(F) Reckless endangering under W.S. 6-2-504.

(c) If a person sentenced under paragraph (b)(ii) of this section is placed on probation, the court may, notwithstanding any other provision of law, impose a term of probation exceeding the maximum imprisonment of one (1) year, provided the term or probation, including extensions, shall not exceed two (2) years.

(d) As used in this section:
(i) “Convicted” means a person has been convicted upon a plea of guilty or no contest or has been found guilty;
(ii) “Household member” means as defined in W.S. 35-21-102;
(iii) “Similar offense” means a substantially similar law of this or any other state, tribe or territory.