Legal Information: Idaho

Statutes: Idaho

View all
Updated: 
November 4, 2021

39-6312. Violation of Order -- Penalties

(1) Whenever a protection order is granted and the respondent or person to be restrained had notice of the order, a violation of the provisions of the order or of a provision excluding the person from a residence shall be a misdemeanor punishable by not to exceed one (l) year in jail and a fine not to exceed five thousand dollars ($5,000), ten dollars ($10.00) of which shall be deposited to the credit of the domestic violence project account created in section 39-5212, Idaho Code.

(2) A peace officer may arrest without a warrant and take into custody a person whom the peace officer has probable cause to believe has violated an order, if the person restrained had notice of the order.

(3) The person against whom a protection order has been issued by an out-of-state court is presumed to have notice of the order if the victim presents to the officer proof of service of the order.

WomensLaw serves and supports all survivors, no matter their sex or gender.