WomensLaw no es solamente para mujeres. Servimos y apoyamos a todos/as los/as sobrevivientes no importa su sexo o género.

Importante: Aun si las cortes están cerradas puede haber una forma para pedir una orden de protección y recursos de emergencia. Vea las Cortes y el COVID-19.

Información Legal: Nebraska

State Gun Laws

Actualizada: 
21 de abril de 2021

If the abuser has been convicted of a crime, can s/he keep or buy a gun?

Nebraska state law makes it illegal for a person to have or buy a gun if:

  • s/he has been convicted of a felony;
  • is on probation pursuant to a deferred judgment for a felony;
  • has been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence within the past seven years; or
  • is a fugitive from justice (any person fleeing to avoid prosecution).1

Also, in order to get a concealed weapons permit in Nebraska, the applicant must:

  • not have been convicted of a felony under the laws of Nebraska or any other state;
  • within the past 10 years, not have been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of violence under the laws of Nebraska or any other state;
  • within the past 10 years, not have had a conviction of any Nebraska law relating to firearms, unlawful use of a weapon, or controlled substances (drugs) or of any similar laws of another state; and
  • not be on parole, probation, house arrest, or work release.2

Also, federal laws, which apply to all states, may restrict an abuser’s right to have a gun. Go to Federal Gun Laws to get more information.

1 NE R.S. § 28-1206(1)
2 NE R.S. § 69-2433(4), (5), (8), (9)