Legal Information: Maine


October 22, 2021

What types of alimony are there?

There are five types of alimony in Maine: interim, general, transitional, reimbursement, and nominal.

1) The judge may award you interim support to help you during your pending divorce action.1

2) You may receive general support to help you financially if you make substantially less money and have less potential to make money than your spouse so that you can have a reasonable standard of living after your divorce. The judge will presume that s/he should not grant general support if you and your spouse were married for less than ten years. The judge will also presume that s/he should not grant you general support for a period of time that is more than half of the length of your marriage if you and your spouse were married for 1 - 20 years. If the judge decides the spousal support award based on these considerations would be unjust, s/he can overrule the presumptions (make a different decision).2

3) You may receive transitional support to help you adjust to life after divorce. Your transitional needs may include:

  • short-term financial needs due to divorce; or
  • help to reenter or advance in the workforce, including physical or emotional rehabilitation services (to address disabilities or barriers to employment), vocational training, and education.3

4) The judge will only consider reimbursement support if your financial situation does not allow the judge to order a fair and equitable financial outcome through dividing marital property. You may receive reimbursement support to help make your and your spouse’s finances become equal if there are “exceptional circumstances,” which include but are not limited to:

5) The judge may grant you nominal support (a small amount) so that s/he has the ability to grant you support in the future. In other words, granting nominal support allows the judge the right to revisit the question of spousal support later.5

1 ME ST T. 19-A § 951-A(2)(E)
2 ME ST T. 19-A § 951-A(2)(A)
3 ME ST T. 19-A § 951-A(2)(B)
4 ME ST T. 19-A § 951-A(2)(C)
5 ME ST T. 19-A § 951-A(2)(D)

WomensLaw serves and supports all survivors, no matter their sex or gender.