WomensLaw is not just for women. We serve and support all survivors, no matter their sex or gender.

Important: Even if courts are closed, you can still file for a protection order and other emergency relief. See our FAQ on Courts and COVID-19.
Let us know: How can WomensLaw better serve you during these difficult times?

Legal Information: Florida

Workplace Protections

Updated: 
January 27, 2020

Can I use the 1 to 3 days guaranteed to me under the law instead of using my vacation days or sick days?

No. Before you can take the 1 to 3 days that are guaranteed to you under the law, you must first use any annual leave, vacation days, personal days or sick days (if appropriate) that you have - unless your employer specifically says otherwise. Generally, if you do not have enough sick days, personal days, annual leave or vacation days, then you can use the Florida law to ask for 1 to 3 days off to deal with the domestic violence issues.1

1 Fla. Stat. § 741.313(4)(b)

Does my employer have to pay me for the time that I take off to deal with domestic violence issues?

No. Your employer might pay you if they want to, but they do not have to pay you for the 1 to 3 days that you take off from work to address domestic violence issues.1

1 Fla. Stat. § 741.313(2)(a)