WomensLaw is not just for women. We serve and support all survivors, no matter their sex or gender.

Legal Information: Oregon

State Gun Laws

Updated: 
July 9, 2021

What is the penalty for violating state firearm laws?

According to Oregon state law, the crime of illegal possession of a firearm is a Class A misdemeanor, which carries a sentence of up to 364 days and a fine of up to $6,250.1 However, if the abuser is a convicted felon who is in possession of a firearm, it is a Class C felony, which carries a sentence of up to five years and a fine of up to $125,000.2

If the abuser has a gun in violation of a specific term against possessing firearms that was written into your restraining order by the judge, s/he may be arrested for the crime of violating the restraining order. Violation of the specific terms of a stalking protective order, for example, can be considered either a Class A misdemeanor or a Class C felony, depending on certain circumstances.3

The abuser might also be violating federal gun laws as well, which carry separate criminal penalties. Go to Federal Gun Laws for more information.

1 Or. Rev. Stat. §§ 166.250(5); 161.615(1); 161.635(1)(a)
2 Or. Rev. Stat. §§ 166.270(5); 161.605(3); 161.625(1)(d)
3 Or. Rev. Stat. § 163.750(2)(a), (2)(b)