WomensLaw is not just for women. We serve and support all survivors, no matter their sex or gender.

Legal Information: California

Statutes: California

View all
Updated: 
April 4, 2019

3901. Duration of duty of support

(a)(1) The duty of support imposed by Section 3900 continues as to an unmarried child who has attained 18 years of age, is a full-time high school student, unless excused pursuant to paragraph (2), and who is not self-supporting, until the time the child completes the 12th grade or attains 19 years of age, whichever occurs first.

(2) A child is excused from the requirement to be a full-time high school student for purposes of paragraph (1) if the child has a medical condition documented by a physician that prevents full-time school attendance.(b) This section does not limit a parent’s ability to agree to provide additional support or the court’s power to inquire whether an agreement to provide additional support has been made.