WomensLaw no es solamente para mujeres. Servimos y apoyamos a todos/as los/as sobrevivientes no importa su sexo o género.

: Alaska

State Gun Laws

Actualizada: 
18 de diciembre de 2019

If the abuser's gun is taken away, what will happen to it?

If the abuser has been convicted of a crime involving domestic violence and the judge orders the gun to be given (forfeited) to a law enforcement agency, the gun will not be returned to the abuser.1 Most likely, it will be destroyed or resold.

However, if the gun was taken away as part of a law enforcement officer’s investigation of a crime related to domestic violence, the firearms will likely be returned to the abuser if they are not needed as evidence in a resulting criminal case.2

1 See Alaska Statute § 12.55.015(f)
2 Alaska Statute § 18.65.515(b)

Who do I notify if I think the abuser should not have a gun?

If you think the abuser is violating state firearm laws, you can call your local police or sheriff department or the State Police. If you think the abuser is violating federal firearm laws, you can call the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms (ATF).

You can find contact information for sheriff departments in your area on our AK Sheriff Departments page.

You can find ATF field offices in Alaska on the ATF website. For reporting illegal firearm activity, a person can also call 1-800-ATF-GUNS (1-800-283-4867). Many ATF offices have victim advocates on staff (called “victim/witness coordinators”) and so perhaps you may ask to speak one of these advocates if you are having a hard time connecting with (or receiving a call back from) an ATF officer.

A local domestic violence organization in your area may also be able to answer your questions and assist you in talking to the necessary law enforcement officials. You will find contact information for organizations in your area on our AK Advocates and Shelters page.

Note: Generally, the abuser does not have to have knowledge of the law in order to be arrested for breaking the law. If the abuser has or buys a gun in violation of the law, the abuser can be arrested, whether or not s/he knows that s/he was in violation of the law.1

1United States v. Lippman, 369 F. 3d 1039 (8th Cir. 2004); United States v. Henson, 55 F. Supp. 2d 528 (S.D. W.V. 1999)

What is the penalty for violating state firearm laws?

If someone has a firearm in his/her possession when his/her physical or mental condition is impaired due to alcohol or drugs, it is a class A misdemeanor. 1 If s/he has a firearm in his/her possession and is committing the crime of criminal trespass in the first degree while his/her physical or mental condition is impaired due to alcohol or drugs, it is a more serious crime - a class C felony.2

It is also class C felony for someone to have a firearm that is small enough to be carried as a concealed weapon if s/he was convicted of a felony or was found “delinquent” as a minor for an act that would be a felony if committed by an adult. However, for all felonies and for most juvenile convictions, it is no longer a crime once ten years have passed since the person completed any jail sentence, parole, and probation​.3

A class A misdemeanor is punishable by up to one year in jail, a fine of up to $25,000, or both. A class C felony is punishable by imprisonment for up to five years, a fine of up to $50,000, or both.4

1 Alaska Statute § 11.61.210 (a)(1), (d)
2 Alaska Statute § 11.61.200(a)(7)
3 Alaska Statute § 11.61.200(a)(1), (b)(1)(c), (i)
4 Alaska Statute §§ 12.55.035 (b)(4), (b)(5); 12.55.135(a); 12.55.125(e)

¿Qué pasará si el agresor intenta comprar un arma?

Antes de comprar un arma de fuego de un/a vendedor/a licenciado/a, todos los/las compradores/as deben someterse a un chequeo de antecedentes penales realizado por el Sistema Nacional de Chequeo Instantáneo de Antecedentes Penales (“National Instant Criminal Background Check System,” o “NICS” por sus siglas en inglés). El Sistema Nacional de Chequeo Instantáneo de Antecedentes Penales es utilizado por los/as licenciatarios/as federales de armas de fuego (“FFLs,” por sus siglas en inglés) para determinar de forma instantánea si alguien es elegible para recibir explosivos o armas de fuego.1 Si el/la agresor/a tiene una orden de protección calificada en su contra o, si ha sido sentenciado/a por un delito grave o un delito menos grave por violencia doméstica intrafamiliar en cualquier estado, esos registros deben estar en el NICS, lo cual debería imposibilitarle a el/la agresor/a comprar un arma de fuego. No todos los estados tienen un sistema automatizado de registro, lo que dificulta el proceso de verificación de antecedentes penales, por lo tanto, algunos criminales y agresores/as logran burlar el sistema. También es importante saber que no se necesita una verificación de antecedentes penales para ventas privadas y a través del Internet.

Si el/la agresor/a pudo comprar un arma y usted entiende que él/ella no debe tener una legalmente, usted puede avisarle a la policía y pedir que le quiten el arma y quizás ellos/as lo/a investigarán. Generalmente no es buena idea asumir que porque el/la agresor/a pudo comprar un arma, es legal que la tenga.

1National Criminal Justice Reference Service website