WomensLaw is not just for women. We serve and support all survivors, no matter their sex or gender.

Important: Even if courts are closed, you can still file for a protection order and other emergency relief. See our FAQ on Courts and COVID-19.

Legal Information: New Mexico

State Gun Laws

Updated: 
February 28, 2020

What is the penalty for violating state firearm laws?

If a convicted felon is in possession of a gun, s/he could be committing a felony in the third or fourth degree, depending on whether or not s/he has previously been convicted of a capital felony or certain serious violent offenses. The punishment for a felony in the fourth degree is up to 18 months in prison and up to $5,000 in fines. The punishment for a felony in the third degree is up to three years in prison and up to $5,000 in fines.1

However, if ten years have passed since the person completed serving his/her sentence or period of probation for the felony, then this New Mexico state law may not apply because s/he may no longer be considered a “felon” in possession of a gun.2

Any person who has a gun while there is an order of protection against him/her could be committing a misdemeanor.3

It can also violate federal law for someone to have a gun if s/he has been convicted of certain crimes or when there is a protection order against him/her. For more information, see our Federal Gun Laws page.

1 N.M.S.A. §§ 30-7-16(A)(1), (B); 31-18-15(A)(11), (A)(13), (E)(11)
2 N.M.S.A. § 30-7-16(D)(3)(a)
3 N.M.S.A. § 30-7-16(C)