Legal Information: Iowa

State Gun Laws

View all
Updated: 
January 31, 2018

I do not have a protective order against the abuser, and s/he has not been convicted of a crime. Can s/he have a gun?

Under Iowa state law, a person cannot get a permit to carry a weapon if s/he is:

  • under 18 years old for a professional permit, or under 21 years old for a nonprofessional permit;
  • addicted to alcohol;
  • there is probable cause, based on documented specific actions of the person and at least one of the actions happened within two years before the date of the permit application, that the person is likely to use the gun unlawfully or that it would put that person or others in danger; or
  • prohibited by federal law from shipping, transporting, possessing, or receiving a firearm.1

If this is your situation, please talk to someone in your area about how this law is being enforced.

If none of these situations apply, you can still make a plan for your safety. See our Safety Tips page for more information. You can also contact your local domestic violence organization for additional help. You may want to talk to them about whether leaving the area - either long term or for a little while - might help improve your safety. See our Places that Help page to find a local domestic violence organization near you.

For additional information on gun laws in Iowa, you can go to the Giffords Law Center website.

1 IA ST § 724.8