WomensLaw is not just for women. We serve and support all survivors, no matter their sex or gender.
Important: Even if courts are closed, you can still file for a protection order and other emergency relief. See our FAQ on Courts and COVID-19.
Legal Information: Georgia
Updated: October 29, 2019
What is the penalty if the abuser has a gun in violation of my protective order?
If a judge specifically includes in your protective order that the abuser is prohibited from possessing a gun, then under Georgia law, if the abuser violates any part of your protective order, s/he may be punished by an action for contempt or criminally punished.1 Violating a protective order can be a misdemeanor, and the abuser can be punished by a fine of up to $1,000, imprisoned for up to one year, or both.2
Also, anyone who has or buys a gun in violation of the federal firearm law can be punished by a fine, jail time for up to 10 years, or both.3 For more information, see our Federal Gun Laws page.
1 GA ST § 19-13-6
2 GA ST §§ 16-5-95(c); 17-10-3(a), (b)
3 18 USC § 924(a)(2)
© 2008–2020 WomensLaw.org is a project of the National Network to End Domestic Violence, Inc. All rights reserved. This website is funded in part through a grant from the Office for Victims of Crime, Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice. Neither the U.S. Department of Justice nor any of its components operate, control, are responsible for, or necessarily endorse, this website (including, without limitation, its content, technical infrastructure, and policies, and any services or tools provided). NNEDV is a 501©(3) non-profit organization; EIN 52-1973408.