Even if you do not qualify for a domestic violence protection order (“50B orders”) or a civil no-contact order (“50C orders”), the abuser may have committed a crime. If you call the police, they may arrest him/her for a crime and you may get a restraining order through the criminal court. Remember that even if you do have a a domestic violence protection order (“50B orders”) or a civil no-contact order (“50C orders”), you can still report him/her to the police if you believe s/he committed a crime against you.
In our Abuse Using Technology section, you can learn the types of behaviors that are considered a misuse of technology. Some of these behaviors might be recognized as a crime depending on the specific laws of your state.
Here is a list of some possible crimes in North Carolina that the abuser may have committed. You can click on the links to read the legal definition of each crime on our NC Statutes page:
- Domestic criminal trespass
- Forcible rape (1st degree and 2nd degree)
- Statutory rape of a child by an adult (Note: For a brief explanation of statutory rape, go to our Sexual Assault/Rape page)
- First-degree statutory rape
- Statutory rape of person who is 15 years of age or younger
- Forcible sexual offense (1st degree and 2nd degree)
- First-degree statutory sexual offense
- Statutory sexual offense with a child by an adult
- Statutory sexual offense with a person who is 15 years of age or younger
- Telephone harassment/ use of profane language
- Mailing anonymous or threatening letters
- Communicating threats
- Disclosure of private images
- Assault inflicting serious bodily injury; strangulation
- Habitual misdemeanor assault
- Assaulting by pointing gun
- Felonious restraint
- Human trafficking
- Involuntary servitude
- Sexual servitude
- Identity theft
- Interception and disclosure of wire, oral, or electronic communications.
The North Carolina Department of Public Safety runs an Office of Victim Services, which provides information on victims’ rights and services including the North Carolina Statewide Automated Victim Assistance and Notification (SAVAN). You can reach the Office of Victim Services at at (919) 733-7974 and SAVAN at (877) 627-2826.
For information on victim compensation in North Carolina, visit the North Carolina Department of Public Safety’s Crime Victims Compensation Services website.
You may learn more about crimes by calling your local police department, sheriff’s department, or district attorney’s office. See our NC Sheriff Departments page for the contact information for your local sheriff’s department.
If you are a victim of domestic violence and have been charged with a crime, you can go to our Battered Women Charged with Crimes page.
Other organizations for victims of crime are listed on our National Organizations - Crime Victims page.