Legal Information: Kentucky

State Gun Laws

Updated: 
September 21, 2017

What is the penalty for violating the state or federal firearm laws?

Under Kentucky state law, if a convicted felon has a handgun in his/her possession, it is a Class C felony and s/he can be sentenced to between 5 and 10 years in prison, a fine of between $1,000 and $10,000, or both.  Possession of any other firearm by a convicted felon is a Class D felony, and s/he can be sentenced to between 1 and 5 years in prison, a fine of between $1,000 and $10,000, or both.1  

In addition, if the abuser's license to carry concealed firearms is suspended or revoked for any of the reasons mentioned in I am a victim of domestic violence and the abuser has a gun. Is that legal?, and s/he doesn't surrender the license as s/he is ordered to do, it can be a Class A misdemeanor.  The penalty for a Class A misdemeanor can be up to one year in prison, a fine of up to $500, or both.2

Also, anyone who owns, has or buys a gun in violation of the federal firearm law can be punished by a fine, jail time for up to 10 years, or both.3  Go to the Federal Gun Laws page to get more information.

1 KRS §§  527.040(2); 532.060(c),(d); 534.030(1)
2 KRS §§ 237.110(13)(i); 534.040(1); 532.090(1)
3 18 USC § 924(a)(2)