WomensLaw is not just for women. We serve and support all survivors, no matter their sex or gender.

Important: Even if courts are closed, you can still file for a protection order and other emergency relief. See our FAQ on Courts and COVID-19.

Legal Information: Alaska

Victim Compensation

Updated: 
December 18, 2019

How much can compensation can I receive? What expenses are covered?

You may get compensation for:

  • expenses actually and reasonably incurred as a result of the personal injury or death of the victim;
  • loss of earning power as a result of total or partial incapacity of the victim, and reasonable expenses to cover job retraining or similar employment-oriented rehabilitative services for the victim;
  • financial loss to the dependents of the deceased victim; and
  • any other loss resulting from the personal injury or death of the victim that the Board determines to be reasonable.1

The highest amount the compensation can be is $40,000 per victim per incident unless:

  1. a victim has more than one dependent who is eligible for compensation (i.e., a parent is killed and has two dependent children); or
  2. two or more victims in the same incident have a dependent eligible for compensation (i.e., a husband and wife are both killed and they have a dependent child).2

In each of these cases (in #1 and #2, above), the total compensation that may be awarded as a result of the victim’s death is $80,000.2

1 Alaska Statute § 18.67.110(a)
2 Alaska Statute § 18.67.130(c)