WomensLaw is not just for women. We serve and support all survivors, no matter their sex or gender.
Important: Even if courts are closed, you can still file for a protection order and other emergency relief. See our FAQ on Courts and COVID-19.
Places that Help: New Jersey
If you are a victim of abuse, you may want to ask the Bar Association’s Lawyer Referral Service whether or not they screen for lawyers who are experienced in handling domestic violence cases. For a suggested list of questions to ask regarding the lawyer’s fees and experience when interviewing an attorney, go to our Choosing and Working with a Lawyer page.
Hunterdon County Bar Association
There is no fee for the name of any lawyer. Your first 10 minutes on the phone with the attorney is free. For your first hour consultation, the lawyer shall charge a $75 fee, payable to the Hunterdon County Bar Association Lawyer Referral Service. After that, the lawyer’s regular fees apply.
Atlantic County Bar Association
Atlantic County Court House
1201 Bacharach Boulevard
Atlantic City, NJ 08401
The Atlantic County Bar Association offers a Lawyer Referral Service that connects clients with attorneys. For an attorney in Atlantic County, New Jersey, call or send an email. Also makes general referrals, as well as those based on location and specialty.
Cape May Court House
Cape May Bar Association
Cape May Court House, NJ 08210
Refers clients to a private attorney in a specific area of law.You will be given the name and telephone number of attorney. Clients receive a 1/2 consultation for $25.00 and can choose to retain the attorney should they need the attorney for additional work.
Camden County Bar Association
1040 N. Kings Highway, Suite 201
Cherry Hill, NJ 08034
Staff will interview clients over the phone to determine the nature of the legal need. Clients will then be given the name, address, and telephone number of an attorney who practices in their area of need. A fee of not more than $30 may be charged for the first half-hour consultation. During the consultation, the attorney will discuss with the client any legal issues that the client may have and additional fees, should they be retained by the client for additional work.
Union County Bar Association
2 Broad Street, 1st floor
Elizabeth, NJ 07207
(908) 353-4715 (Monday - Thursday, 10 A.M.-1 P.M.)
Provides referrals to participating attorneys and serves the community by putting people in contact with a local attorney.
Monmouth Bar Association
Monmouth County Court House
71 Monument Park
Freehold, NJ 07728
There is no fee for the referral, however, client will be responsible for a legal fee to the referred attorney as may be agreed upon between the client and that attorney.
Bergen County Bar Association
Requires an application and payment of a $30.00 fee which provides the client with a 30-minute consultation with an experienced attorney.
Mercer County Bar Association
1245 Whitehorse-Mercerville Road, Suite 420
Hamilton, NJ 08619-3894
Depending on the type of case, client will be charged only $25 by the attorney for the first half hour of the consultation. The reduced rate for the initial half-hour consultation includes conference and advice, but not the preparation of any documents. If further legal service is required, fee arrangements are made between the client and the lawyer.
Hudson County Bar Association
583 Newark Avenue, 4th floor
Jersey City, NJ 07306
Clients are charged a $25 initial consultation fee and any fees for additional services are worked out directly with the attorney.
Morris County Bar Association
There is no fee for the name of any lawyer. However, the lawyer may charge a maximum of $50 for the first half-hour consultation, after that, the lawyer’s regular fees apply. You can also apply for the Reduced Fee Referral Program, which is available to litigants in Morris and Sussex Counties who do not qualify for legal services and/or the Public Defender but who cannot afford to hire an attorney. Individuals who meet the income requirements for the program will be referred to an attorney who may represent them at a reduced rate.
Burlington County Bar Association
137 High Street, 3rd Floor
Mount Holly, NJ 08060
Attorneys agree to charge clients no more than $35 for the first half-hour consultation. All fee arrangements after the initial consultation will be those agreed to between the client and the attorney.
Middlesex County Bar Association
(732) 828-0053, ex 100
If a client submits an LRS Referral Client Intake Form, the name, address and phone number of an experienced attorney will be emailed back to the client as soon as possible and no later than one business day. Client must contact the attorney to set-up the initial 30-minute consultation. The cost is no more than $35 and depending on the type of case, it may be free. After speaking to the attorney, if the client would like another referral, client may send another email or call the service again.
Essex County Bar Association
470 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
Newark, NJ 07102
(973) 622-6204 (Lawyer Referral Service)
Attorneys charge a $25 consultation fee for the first half hour.
Passaic County Bar Association
401 Grand Street, 3rd floor
Paterson, NJ 07505
Salem County Bar Association
Designed to help members of the community get in contact with lawyers who practice in a particular area of the law.
Somerset County Bar Association
20 N. Bridge Street, Room 325
(Mailing Address: P.O. Box 1095)
Somerville, NJ 08876
The referral is free. The lawyer’s regular fees apply.
Ocean County Bar Association
100 Hooper Avenue
P.O. Box 381
Toms River, NJ 08754
There is no fee for the referral. Client will be charged by the referred attorney for the initial consultation an amount no greater than $30.00 for the first half hour. The consultation includes only the conference and advice, but not the preparation of any document, so If further legal service is required, fee arrangements are made between the client and the lawyer.
Cumberland County Bar Association
The Lawyer Referral Service is available Monday-Friday from the hours of 8:30 p.m. – 1:30 p.m. (EST). Clients obtain a name and telephone number of an attorney and can then contact that attorney to set up a consultation appointment. Inform the law office that you were referred by the Cumberland County Lawyer Referral Service. Consultation pricing is as follows: Family Law is $75.00 for a one hour consultation and any other type of law is $35.00 for a ½ hour consultation.
Gloucester County Bar Association
P.O. Box 338
Woodbury, NJ 08096
Clients will then be given the name, address, and telephone number of several attorney members in the practice area that clients require. A fee of $25 will be charged for a 20 minute consultation.
© 2008–2020 WomensLaw.org is a project of the National Network to End Domestic Violence, Inc. All rights reserved. This website is funded in part through a grant from the Office for Victims of Crime, Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice. Neither the U.S. Department of Justice nor any of its components operate, control, are responsible for, or necessarily endorse, this website (including, without limitation, its content, technical infrastructure, and policies, and any services or tools provided). NNEDV is a 501©(3) non-profit organization; EIN 52-1973408.