WomensLaw is not just for women. We serve and support all survivors, no matter their sex or gender.

Important: Even if courts are closed, you can still file for a protection order and other emergency relief. See our FAQ on Courts and COVID-19.

Legal Information: Texas

Statutes: Texas

View all
Updated: 
November 4, 2020

Art. 7A.07. Duration of Protective Order

(a) A protective order issued under Article 7A.03 may be effective for the duration of the lives of the offender and victim or for any shorter period stated in the order. If a period is not stated in the order, the order is effective until the second anniversary of the date the order was issued.

(a-1) The court shall issue a protective order effective for the duration of the lives of the offender and victim if the offender is:

(1) convicted of or placed on deferred adjudication community supervision for an offense listed in Article 7A.01(a)(1) or (2); and

(2) required under Chapter 62 to register for life as a sex offender.

(b) The following persons may file at any time an application with the court to rescind the protective order:

(1) a victim of an offense listed in Article 7A.01(a)(1) who is 17 years of age or older or a parent or guardian acting on behalf of a victim who is younger than 17 years of age; or

(2) a victim of an offense listed in Article 7A.01(a)(2) or a parent or guardian acting on behalf of a victim who is younger than 18 years of age.

(c) Repealed by Acts 2017, 85th Leg., ch. 97 (S.B. 257), § 2.(d) To the extent of any conflict with Section 85.025, Family Code, this article prevails.