WomensLaw is not just for women. We serve and support all survivors, no matter their sex or gender.

Important: Even if courts are closed, you can still file for a protection order and other emergency relief. See our FAQ on Courts and COVID-19.

Legal Information: Oregon

Housing Laws

Updated: 
March 6, 2020

If I am a victim, can I be let out of my lease early?

If you are a victim of domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking, you can give your landlord written notice that you and any immediate family member need to be released from your rental agreement (lease). This law applies to you if:

  • you are protected by an order of protection; or
  • you were the victim of domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking within the 90 days preceding the date of the notice. The 90-day period does not include any days that the abuser was incarcerated or was living more than 100 miles from your home.1

There are very specific documents that you have to provide to your landlord under this law. To read more about the specific documents that you need to send your landlord, please read section 90.453 on our Selected Oregon Statutes page.

Note: If you (and your immediate family members) are released from your rental agreement, this does not necessarily affect other tenants in the home. If there are any remaining tenants, the tenancy will continue for those tenants.2

1 OR ST § 90.453(2)
2 OR ST § 90.456