WomensLaw is not just for women. We serve and support all survivors, no matter their sex or gender.
Important: Even if courts are closed, you can still file for a protection order and other emergency relief. See our FAQ on Courts and COVID-19.
Legal Information: Michigan
Updated: December 11, 2019
What is the penalty for violating the firearm laws?
Anyone who owns, has, or buys a gun or ammunition in violation of Michigan’s firearm law can be punished by a fine of up to $5,000, prison time for up to five years, or both.1
Also, under Michigan state law, if there is a firearm restriction written into the terms of a personal protection order, the abuser can be held in contempt for violating that term (or any other term of the PPO). The punishment for contempt can be jail time of up to 93 days, a fine of up to $500, or both.2
1 MCL §§ 750.224f(5); 750.224f(6)
2 MCL § 600.2950(23)
© 2008–2020 WomensLaw.org is a project of the National Network to End Domestic Violence, Inc. All rights reserved. This website is funded in part through a grant from the Office for Victims of Crime, Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice. Neither the U.S. Department of Justice nor any of its components operate, control, are responsible for, or necessarily endorse, this website (including, without limitation, its content, technical infrastructure, and policies, and any services or tools provided). NNEDV is a 501©(3) non-profit organization; EIN 52-1973408.