Legal Information: Idaho

State Gun Laws

Updated: 
November 9, 2018

What is the penalty for violating the state and federal firearm laws?

Under Idaho state law, carrying a concealed weapon in violation of state law is a misdemeanor and can be punished by jail time of up to 6 months, a fine of up to $1,000, or both.1 Also, anyone who is convicted of a felony and later possesses a firearm in violation of state law is guilty of another felony and can be punished by imprisonment of up to 5 years in a state prison, a fine of up to $5,000, or both.2

Also, anyone who has or buys a gun in violation of the federal firearm law can be punished by a fine, jail time for up to 10 years, or both.3

1 ID Code §§ 18-3302(14); 18-113
2 ID Code § 18-3316(1)
3 18 USC 924(a)(2)