WomensLaw is not just for women. We serve and support all survivors, no matter their sex or gender.
Important: Even if courts are closed, you can still file for a protection order and other emergency relief. See our FAQ on Courts and COVID-19.
Legal Information: Florida
Updated: January 27, 2020
Can I use the 1 to 3 days guaranteed to me under the law instead of using my vacation days or sick days?
No. Before you can take the 1 to 3 days that are guaranteed to you under the law, you must first use any annual leave, vacation days, personal days or sick days (if appropriate) that you have - unless your employer specifically says otherwise. Generally, if you do not have enough sick days, personal days, annual leave or vacation days, then you can use the Florida law to ask for 1 to 3 days off to deal with the domestic violence issues.1
1 Fla. Stat. § 741.313(4)(b)
© 2008–2020 WomensLaw.org is a project of the National Network to End Domestic Violence, Inc. All rights reserved. This website is funded in part through a grant from the Office for Victims of Crime, Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice. Neither the U.S. Department of Justice nor any of its components operate, control, are responsible for, or necessarily endorse, this website (including, without limitation, its content, technical infrastructure, and policies, and any services or tools provided). NNEDV is a 501©(3) non-profit organization; EIN 52-1973408.