WomensLaw serves and supports all survivors, no matter their sex or gender.

Legal Information: Connecticut

State Gun Laws

January 3, 2024

If the abuser has been convicted of a crime, can s/he keep or buy a gun?

It is illegal under Connecticut state law for a person to possess (have) a firearm or ammunition and s/he can be denied a certificate to carry a revolver or pistol if:

  1. s/he has been convicted of a felony;
  2. s/he has been convicted of any of the following misdemeanors within the past 20 years:
  3. s/he has been conviction of one of the following misdemeanors against a family or household member:
  4. s/he has been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence as defined by federal law;
  5. s/he has been convicted of illegal possession of a controlled substance on or after October 1, 2015;
    • s/he has been convicted as delinquent for a “serious juvenile offense;” or

    • s/he has been discharged from custody within the past 20 years after having been found not guilty of a crime by reason of mental disease or defect.1

    Also, under federal laws, which apply to all states, it is illegal to possess a firearm if a person was convicted of a felony or a domestic violence misdemeanor. Go to the Federal Gun Laws page to get more information.

    1 C.G.S.A. §§ 53a-217(a); 29-36f; 46b-38h