Legal Information: Connecticut

State Gun Laws

Updated: 
August 16, 2022

If the abuser has been convicted of a crime, can s/he keep or buy a gun?

It is illegal under Connecticut state law for a person to possess (have) a firearm or ammunition and s/he can be denied a certificate to carry a revolver or pistol if:

  1. s/he has been convicted of a felony;
  2. s/he has been convicted of illegal possession of a controlled substance on or after October 1, 2015;
  3. s/he has been convicted of any of the following misdemeanors within the past 20 years:
  4. s/he has been convicted as delinquent for a “serious juvenile offense;” or
  5. s/he has been discharged from custody within the past 20 years after having been found not guilty of a crime by reason of mental disease or defect.1

Also, under federal laws, which apply to all states, it is illegal to possess a firearm if a person was convicted of a felony or a domestic violence misdemeanor. Go to the Federal Gun Laws page to get more information.

1 C.G.S.A. §§ 53a-217(a); 29-36f

How can I find out if the abuser has been convicted of a crime?

Domestic violence misdemeanor and felony records are open to the public, but they are not always easy to access.  If you know the exact courthouse where the abuser may have been convicted, you can go to the courthouse and ask the clerk of court for access to those records.

Domestic violence misdemeanor and felony records are also kept in the National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS). However, no one other than law enforcement officials and licensed firearm sellers are allowed to search the NICS.  Your local police department may be willing to search NICS for you if you ask, but they are not required to do so.

To read more about the NICS, please see What will happen if the abuser tries to purchase a gun?

WomensLaw serves and supports all survivors, no matter their sex or gender.