WomensLaw no es solamente para mujeres. Servimos y apoyamos a todos/as los/as sobrevivientes no importa su sexo o género.

Importante: Aun si las cortes están cerradas puede haber una forma para pedir una orden de protección y recursos de emergencia. Vea las Cortes y el COVID-19.

Información Legal: Indiana

State Gun Laws

Ver Todo
8 de octubre de 2019

What is the penalty for violating firearm laws?

Anyone who owns, has or buys a gun in violation of the federal firearm law can be punished by a fine, jail time for up to 10 years, or both.1

Under Indiana state law, anyone who has or buys a gun after being convicted of domestic battery is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor (or a level 5 felony if certain conditions are met) and can be punished by jail time of up to one year, a fine of up to $5,000, or both.2 Also, anyone who has a handgun after being convicted of a serious violent felony is guilty of a Level 4 felony, which can be punished by incarceration of between two and twelve years, with the advisory sentence being six years. In addition, the person may be fined up to $10,000.3

1 18 U.S.C. § 924(a)(2)
2 IC §§ 35-47-2-1(c),(e); 35-47-4-6; 35-50-3-2
3 IC §§ 35-47-4-5(c); 35-50-2-5.5