Información Legal: Alabama

Leyes Estatales de Armas de Fuego

Actualizada: 
1 de septiembre de 2023

¿Cuál es la pena por violar las leyes estatales de armas de fuego?

The penalty depends on the circumstances of the illegal possession of the firearm, as follows:

  1. It is a Class C felony to have a firearm while being subject to a valid protection order for domestic abuse, issued after notice to the abuser and a hearing. 
  2. It is a Class C felony to have a firearm if you were convicted of committing or attempting to commit:
    • a crime of violence;
    • a misdemeanor offense of domestic violence; or 
    • a violent offense.  
  3. It is a Class C felony to have a firearm if you are “of unsound mind” or in the U.S. “illegally or unlawfully” or with a nonimmigrant visa.1
  4. It is Class A misdemeanor to have a firearm if the person is:
    • a minor;
    • an abuser of alcohol (“habitual drunkard); or
    • addicted to drugs.2

The sentence for a Class C felony is up to ten years and a fine of up to $15,000.3 The sentence for a Class A misdemeanor is up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $6,000.4

1 Alabama Code § 13A-11-72(a), (c)
2 Alabama Code § 13A-11-72(b) 
3 Alabama Code §§ 13A-5-6(a)(3); 13A-5-11(a)(3)
4 Alabama Code §§ 13A-5-7(a)(1); 13A-5-12(a)(1)

WomensLaw sirve y apoya a todas las personas sobrevivientes sin importar su sexo o género.