Can I permanently delete my Facebook profile?
Facebook answers this question in detail on their Help Center section. In sum, to permanently delete your profile, you can log into your account and submit a form to Facebook.
Another alternative is you can deactivate your account, which will remove it from Facebook temporarily but all of your information (info, pictures, etc.,) will be saved internally. Go to the arrow icon at the top right-hand corner of your Facebook page. In the drop-down menu select “Settings”. On the left-hand column of the page, select “Security.” Once on the “Security Settings” page, go all the way to the bottom to select “Deactivate your account.” Later, if you want to rejoin Facebook, you can re-activate your account. You can read more about deactivating your account on Facebook’s website.