En Español
National Domestic Violence Hotline: 1-800-799-SAFE (7233) or (TTY) 1-800-787-3224

Legal Statutes: Pennsylvania

UPDATED May 25, 2017

Pennsylvania Statutes

Print this page

Back to Pennsylvania overview

Chapter 27. Assault

back to top2701. Simple assault

(a) Offense defined.-- Except as provided under section 2702 (relating to aggravated assault), a person is guilty of assault if he:

(1) attempts to cause or intentionally, knowingly or recklessly causes bodily injury to another;

(2) negligently causes bodily injury to another with a deadly weapon;

(3) attempts by physical menace to put another in fear of imminent serious bodily injury; or

(4) conceals or attempts to conceal a hypodermic needle on his person and intentionally or knowingly penetrates a law enforcement officer or an officer or an employee of a correctional institution, county jail or prison, detention facility or mental hospital during the course of an arrest or any search of the person.

(b) Grading.--Simple assault is a misdemeanor of the second degree unless committed:

(1) in a fight or scuffle entered into by mutual consent, in which case it is a misdemeanor of the third degree; or

(2) against a child under 12 years of age by a person 18 years of age or older, in which case it is a misdemeanor of the first degree.

1972, Dec. 6, P.L. 1482, No. 334, § 1, effective June 6, 1973. Amended 1988, Dec. 19, P.L. 1275, No. 158, § 1, effective in 60 days; 2001, June 22, P.L. 605, No. 48, § 1, effective in 60 days; 2002, Dec. 9, P.L. 1391, No. 172, § 1, effective in 60 days; 2013, Dec. 18, P.L. 1198, No. 118, § 1, effective Jan. 1, 2014.