En Español
National Domestic Violence Hotline: 1-800-799-SAFE (7233) or (TTY) 1-800-787-3224

Legal Statutes: Minnesota

UPDATED August 15, 2016

Back to Minnesota overview

Crimes Against the Person

back to top609.222. Assault in the second degree

Subdivision 1. Dangerous weapon. Whoever assaults another with a dangerous weapon may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than seven years or to payment of a fine of not more than $14,000, or both.

Subd. 2. Dangerous weapon; substantial bodily harm. Whoever assaults another with a dangerous weapon and inflicts substantial bodily harm may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not more than $20,000, or both.

Laws 1979, c. 258, § 5. Amended by Laws 1984, c. 628, art. 3, § 11, eff. May 3, 1984; Laws 1985, c. 53, § 1, eff. Aug. 1, 1985; Laws 1989, c. 290, art. 6, § 9, eff. Aug. 1, 1989; Laws 1992, c. 571, art. 4, § 7.