En Español
National Domestic Violence Hotline: 1-800-799-SAFE (7233) or (TTY) 1-800-787-3224

Legal Statutes: North Carolina

UPDATED August 17, 2016

North Carolina Statutes

Print this page

Back to North Carolina overview

Article 7B. Rape and Other Sex Offenses

back to top14-27.29. First-degree statutory sexual offense

(a) A person is guilty of first-degree statutory sexual offense if the person engages in a sexual act with a victim who is a child under the age of 13 years and the defendant is at least 12 years old and is at least four years older than the victim.

(b) Any person who commits an offense defined in this section is guilty of a Class B1 felony.

Added by S.L. 2015-181, § 11, eff. Dec. 1, 2015.