En Español
National Domestic Violence Hotline: 1-800-799-SAFE (7233) or (TTY) 1-800-787-3224

Legal Statutes: North Carolina

UPDATED August 17, 2016

North Carolina Statutes

Print this page

Back to North Carolina overview

Article 7B. Rape and Other Sex Offenses

back to top14-27.25. Statutory rape of person who is 15 years of age or younger

Formerly cited as § 14-27.7A

(a) A defendant is guilty of a Class B1 felony if the defendant engages in vaginal intercourse with another person who is 15 years of age or younger and the defendant is at least 12 years old and at least six years older than the person, except when the defendant is lawfully married to the person.

(b) Unless the conduct is covered under some other provision of law providing greater punishment, a defendant is guilty of a Class C felony if the defendant engages in vaginal intercourse with another person who is 15 years of age or younger and the defendant is at least 12 years old and more than four but less than six years older than the person, except when the defendant is lawfully married to the person.

Added by Laws 1995, c. 281, § 1, eff. Dec. 1, 1995. Amended by S.L. 2015-62, § 1(a), eff. Dec. 1, 2015. Recodified from § 14-27.7A by S.L. 2015-181, § 7(a), eff. Dec. 1, 2015. Amended by S.L. 2015-181, § 7(b), eff. Dec. 1, 2015.