En Español
National Domestic Violence Hotline: 1-800-799-SAFE (7233) or (TTY) 1-800-787-3224

Legal Statutes: North Carolina

UPDATED August 17, 2016

North Carolina Statutes

Print this page

Back to North Carolina overview

Article 7B. Rape and Other Sex Offenses

back to top14-27.24. First-degree statutory rape

(a) A person is guilty of first-degree statutory rape if the person engages in vaginal intercourse with a victim who is a child under the age of 13 years and the defendant is at least 12 years old and is at least four years older than the victim.

(b) Any person who commits an offense defined in this section is guilty of a Class B1 felony.(c) Upon conviction, a person convicted under this section has no rights to custody of or rights of inheritance from any child born as a result of the commission of the rape, nor shall the person have any rights related to the child under Chapter 48 or Subchapter 1 of Chapter 7B of the General Statutes.

Added by S.L. 2015-181, § 6, eff. Dec. 1, 2015.