In English
Línea Nacional para la Violencia Doméstica: 1-800-799-7233 o (TTY) 1-800-787-3224

Estatutos Legales: Wyoming

ACTUALIZADA 23 de diciembre, 2016

Back to Wyoming overview

Article 5. Assault and Battery

back to top6-2-510. Domestic assault

(a) A household member is guilty of domestic assault if, having the present ability to do so, he unlawfully attempts to cause bodily injury to another household member.

(b) Domestic assault is punishable as follows:

(i) By a fine of not more than seven hundred fifty dollars ($750.00);

(ii) By imprisonment for not more than six (6) months, a fine of not more than seven hundred fifty dollars ($750.00), or both, if the person has previously been convicted of domestic assault or if the person has previously been convicted of the following or similar offense against another household member:

(A) Domestic battery under W.S. 6-2-511;

(B) Simple assault under W.S. 6-2-501(a);

(C) Battery under W.S. 6-2-501(b);

(D) Aggravated assault and battery under W.S. 6-2-502;

(E) Child abuse under W.S. 6-2-503; or

(F) Reckless endangering under W.S. 6-2-504.

(c) If a person sentenced under paragraph (b)(ii) of this section is placed on probation, the court may, notwithstanding any other provision of law, impose a term of probation exceeding the maximum six (6) months imprisonment, provided the term or probation, including extensions, shall not exceed one (1) year.

(d) As used in this section:

(i) “Convicted” means a person has been convicted upon a plea of guilty or no contest or has been found guilty;

(ii) “Household member” means as defined in W.S. 35-21-102;

(iii) “Similar offense” means a substantially similar law of this or any other state, tribe or territory.
Laws 2014, ch. 13, § 1, eff. July 1, 2014.