En Español
National Domestic Violence Hotline: 1-800-799-SAFE (7233) or (TTY) 1-800-787-3224

Legal Statutes: Idaho

UPDATED July 16, 2017

Back to Idaho overview

Chapter 1. Preliminary Provisions

back to top18-113. Punishment for misdemeanor

(1) Except in cases where a different punishment is prescribed in this code, every offense declared to be a misdemeanor, is punishable by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding six (6) months, or by a fine not exceeding one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by both.

(2) In addition to any other punishment prescribed for misdemeanors in specific statutes of the Idaho Code, the court may also impose a fine of up to one thousand dollars ($1,000). This paragraph shall not apply if the specific misdemeanor statute provides for the imposition of a fine.
S.L. 1972, ch. 336, § 1; S.L. 1994, ch. 141, § 1; S.L. 2005, ch. 359, § 1.