En Español
National Domestic Violence Hotline: 1-800-799-SAFE (7233) or (TTY) 1-800-787-3224

Legal Statutes: Massachusetts

UPDATED November 28, 2016

Massachusetts Statutes

Print this page

Back to Massachusetts overview

Chapter 265. Crimes Against the Person

back to top§ 13B. Indecent assault and battery on child under age of 14

Whoever commits an indecent assault and battery on a child under the age of 14 shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for not more than 10 years, or by imprisonment in the house of correction for not more than 2 1/2 years. A prosecution commenced under this section shall neither be continued without a finding nor placed on file.

In a prosecution under this section, a child under the age of 14 years shall be deemed incapable of consenting to any conduct of the defendant for which such defendant is being prosecuted.
Added by St.1953, c. 299; Amended by St.1958, c. 189; St.1980, c. 459, § 4; St.1986, c. 187; St.1998, c. 194, § 236; St.2008, c. 205, § 1, eff. Oct. 22, 2008.