En Español
National Domestic Violence Hotline: 1-800-799-SAFE (7233) or (TTY) 1-800-787-3224

Legal Statutes: Oklahoma

UPDATED May 25, 2017

Back to Oklahoma overview

Protection from Domestic Abuse Act

back to top§ 60.11. Protective order--Statement required--Validity

In addition to any other provisions required by the Protection from Domestic Abuse Act, or otherwise required by law, each ex parte or final protective order issued pursuant to the Protection from Domestic Abuse Act shall have a statement printed in bold-faced type or in capital letters containing the following information:

1. The filing or nonfiling of criminal charges and the prosecution of the case shall not be determined by a person who is protected by the protective order, but shall be determined by the prosecutor;

2. No person, including a person who is protected by the order, may give permission to anyone to ignore or violate any provision of the order. During the time in which the order is valid, every provision of the order shall be in full force and effect unless a court changes the order;

3. The order shall be in effect for a fixed period of five (5) years unless extended, modified, vacated or rescinded by the court or shall be continuous upon a specific finding by the court as provided in subparagraph b of paragraph 1 of subsection G of Section 60.4 of this title unless modified, vacated or rescinded by the court;

4. A violation of the order is punishable by a fine of up to One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00) or imprisonment for up to one (1) year in the county jail, or by both such fine and imprisonment. A violation of the order which causes injury is punishable by imprisonment for twenty (20) days to one (1) year in the county jail or a fine of up to Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000.00), or by both such fine and imprisonment; and

5. Possession of a firearm or ammunition by a defendant while an order is in effect may subject the defendant to prosecution for a violation of federal law even if the order does not specifically prohibit the defendant from possession of a firearm or ammunition.


Laws 1995, c. 297, § 3, eff. Nov. 1, 1995; Laws 1999, c. 97, § 3, eff. Nov. 1, 1999; Laws 1999, c. 417, § 4, emerg. eff. June 10, 1999; Laws 2003, c. 407, § 5, eff. Nov. 1, 2003; Laws 2012, c. 313, § 2, eff. Nov. 1, 2012.