En Español
National Domestic Violence Hotline: 1-800-799-SAFE (7233) or (TTY) 1-800-787-3224

Legal Statutes: Alabama

UPDATED July 28, 2016

Back to Alabama overview

Article 4. Sexual Offenses

back to topSection 13A-6-69.1. Sexual abuse of a child less than 12 years old

(a) A person commits the crime of sexual abuse of a child less than 12 years old if he or she, being 16 years old or older, subjects another person who is less than 12 years old to sexual contact.

(b) Sexual abuse of a child less than 12 years old is a Class B felony.
(Act 2006-575, p. 1512, § 1.)