En Español
National Domestic Violence Hotline: 1-800-799-SAFE (7233) or (TTY) 1-800-787-3224

Legal Statutes: Alabama

UPDATED July 28, 2016

Back to Alabama overview

Article 4. Sexual Offenses

back to topSection 13A-6-61. Rape in the first degree

(a) A person commits the crime of rape in the first degree if:

(1) He or she engages in sexual intercourse with a member of the opposite sex by forcible compulsion; or

(2) He or she engages in sexual intercourse with a member of the opposite sex who is incapable of consent by reason of being physically helpless or mentally incapacitated; or

(3) He or she, being 16 years or older, engages in sexual intercourse with a member of the opposite sex who is less than 12 years old.

(b) Rape in the first degree is a Class A felony.
(Acts 1977, No. 607, p. 812, § 2310; Act 2000-726, p. 1557, § 1.)