En Español
National Domestic Violence Hotline: 1-800-799-SAFE (7233) or (TTY) 1-800-787-3224

Legal Statutes: Oregon

UPDATED October 25, 2016

Back to Oregon overview

Disposition of Offenders

back to top161.635. Misdemeanors; fines

(1) A sentence to pay a fine for a misdemeanor shall be a sentence to pay an amount, fixed by the court, not exceeding:

(a) $6,250 for a Class A misdemeanor.

(b) $2,500 for a Class B misdemeanor.

(c) $1,250 for a Class C misdemeanor.

(2) A sentence to pay a fine for an unclassified misdemeanor shall be a sentence to pay an amount, fixed by the court, as provided in the statute defining the crime.

(3) If a person has gained money or property through the commission of a misdemeanor, then upon conviction thereof the court, instead of imposing the fine authorized for the offense under this section, may sentence the defendant to pay an amount fixed by the court, not exceeding double the amount of the defendant's gain from the commission of the offense. In that event, ORS 161.625 (4) and (5) apply.

(4) This section does not apply to corporations.
Laws 1971, c. 743, § 77; Laws 1981, c. 390, § 2; Laws 1993, c. 680, § 30; Laws 1995, c. 545, § 2; Laws 1999, c. 1051, § 44; Laws 2003, c. 737, § 87, eff. Sept. 1, 2003.