En Español
National Domestic Violence Hotline: 1-800-799-SAFE (7233) or (TTY) 1-800-787-3224

Legal Statutes: Vermont

UPDATED March 29, 2017

Back to Vermont overview

Chapter 56. Custodial Interference

back to top2451. Custodial interference

(a) A person commits custodial interference by taking, enticing or keeping a child from the child's lawful custodian, knowingly, without a legal right to do so, when the person is a relative of the child and the child is less than eighteen years old.

(b) A person who commits custodial interference shall be imprisoned not more than five years or fined not more than $5,000.00, or both.

(c) It shall be a defense to a charge of keeping a child from the child's lawful custodian that the person charged with the offense was acting in good faith to protect the child from real and imminent physical danger. Evidence of good faith shall include, but is not limited to, the filing of a non-frivolous petition documenting that danger and seeking to modify the custodial decree in a Vermont court of competent jurisdiction. This petition must be filed within 72 hours of the termination of visitation rights. This defense shall not be available if the person charged with the offense has left the state with the child.
1979, Adj. Sess., No. 149, § 1.