En Español
National Domestic Violence Hotline: 1-800-799-SAFE (7233) or (TTY) 1-800-787-3224

Legal Statutes: Idaho

UPDATED July 16, 2017

Back to Idaho overview

Chapter 63. Domestic Violence Crime Prevention

back to top39-6312. Violation of Order -- Penalties

(1) Whenever a protection order is granted and the respondent or person to be restrained had notice of the order, a violation of the provisions of the order or of a provision excluding the person from a residence shall be a misdemeanor punishable by not to exceed one (l) year in jail and a fine not to exceed five thousand dollars ($5,000), ten dollars ($10.00) of which shall be deposited to the credit of the domestic violence project account created in section 39-5212, Idaho Code.

(2) A peace officer may arrest without a warrant and take into custody a person whom the peace officer has probable cause to believe has violated an order, if the person restrained had notice of the order.

(3) The person against whom a protection order has been issued by an out-of-state court is presumed to have notice of the order if the victim presents to the officer proof of service of the order.
[IC, § 39-6312, as added by 1988, ch. 341, § 1, p. 1013; am. 1990, ch. 234, § 3, p. 667; am. 1991, ch. 169, § 1, p. 409; am. 1999, ch. 330, § 7, p. 388.]